Annual Conference: Speakers’ Presentations

By john harding, Friday, 4th November 2016 | 0 comments
Filed under: 2016.



The Law Reform Commission held its 2016 annual conference on Thursday 3rd November 2016 at St George’s Hall, Dublin Castle, Dublin 2 as reported by the Sunday Independent.  This year's theme was ‘Regulatory Powers and Corporate Offences’ and the following provides details of the various presentations made, where available:






Chair’s opening address


Mr Justice John Quirke, President, Law Reform Commission 



Session 1: Corporate Liability and Criminal Offences


Speaker: Professor David Ormerod, Professor of Criminal Justice, University of London, Commissioner, Law Commission of England and Wales




Reply: Dr Imelda Higgins, Barrister, Senior Associate, McCann FitzGerald Solicitors, Dublin





Reply: Professor Irene Lynch-Fannon, School of Law, University College Cork




Session 2: Regulatory Powers and Enforcement


Speaker: Professor Christopher Hodges, Professor of Justice Systems, Centre for Socio-Legal Studies, University of Oxford




Reply: Ms Derville Rowland, Director of Enforcement, Central Bank of Ireland




Reply: Professor Colin Scott, Professor of EU Regulation & Governance, UCD Sutherland School of Law, University College Dublin



Present and Past Presidents of the Law Reform Commission (L-R) : Mr. Justice John Quirke [President], Ms. Justice Catherine McGuinness, Mr. Justice Ronan Keane and Mr. Justice Declan Budd